Atlan vs Collibra: Pricing, Data Lineage and Data Catalog Compared
Every comparison of these two skips the number that decides the purchase. Collibra publishes $170,000 a year on a transactable rate card. Atlan publishes nothing, on its own site or on the marketplace listing it maintains. Here is what each actually gives you for that, read from primary sources on 6 September 2026.
Read-only connection. Datatrail never moves or mutates your data.
Atlan and Collibra are both enterprise metadata platforms, but they are bought by different people to survive different risks. Collibra is a governance program platform: workflow, stewardship, policy, and lineage that reaches into legacy ETL and stored procedures, which is why regulated organizations buy it. Its published US list price is $170,000 for 12 months on AWS Marketplace. Atlan is an active metadata platform built around search, collaboration and the modern cloud stack, and its advantage is adoption: it is the one analysts open without being told to. Atlan publishes no price anywhere, including on its own marketplace listing. Choose Collibra if an auditor decides whether your program succeeded, and Atlan if your own team's usage decides it.
Atlan pricing vs Collibra pricing, from primary sources
Both vendors are quote-only, which is why every comparison article you have read quotes a range with no source. There is one place a quote-only enterprise vendor cannot stay silent: a transactable AWS Marketplace listing has to carry a real dollar amount. We read both listings from the live page on 6 September 2026. One of them answered.
| Vendor | Source | US list price | What the listing actually says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Collibra | AWS Marketplace rate card | $170,000 / 12 months | One dimension, "Collibra Cloud Platform", quantity 1, unit type "Units", never defined |
| Collibra | AWS Marketplace, 24 months | $340,000 | Exactly 2x the annual rate |
| Collibra | AWS Marketplace, 36 months | $510,000 | Exactly 3x the annual rate |
| Atlan | AWS Marketplace listing | No price published | The listing carries no rate card at all: no dimensions, no dollar amount, private offer only |
| Atlan | atlan.com/pricing | No price published | No figures, no plan names, no tiers. The page routes you to a sales conversation |
Collibra lists $170,000, $340,000 and $510,000 for 12, 24 and 36 months. That is exactly two and three times the annual figure. Any multi-year discount is a concession you negotiate, not a rate you are offered.
Most quote-only vendors still expose a floor on Marketplace: Alation $60,000, Monte Carlo $50,000, Collibra $170,000. Atlan maintains a listing that carries no rate card at all, only a private offer.
Collibra's listing sells one dimension, "Collibra Cloud Platform", at quantity 1, in a unit type called Units that the listing never defines. So $170,000 is real, and what it entitles you to is not stated.
One caution before you take $170,000 as your budget. Lineage and data quality are commonly licensed as separate Collibra modules with their own fees, and technical lineage is priced against the volume of sources and artifacts parsed, so a wide ETL estate can make lineage the largest single line on the contract. The full rate card, including what the number does and does not include, is in how much Collibra costs.
Collibra vs Atlan on the dimensions that decide the deal
Feature checklists make these two look nearly identical, because at the level of a checklist they are. Both catalog, both classify, both do column-level lineage, both have workflows. The differences that actually change the outcome of an evaluation are below.
| Dimension | Atlan | Collibra |
|---|---|---|
| What it is at heart | Active metadata platform and data catalog | Data governance program platform |
| Published US list price | None, anywhere | $170,000 a year on AWS Marketplace |
| How you buy it | Private offer or sales conversation only | Sales conversation, or a transactable Marketplace contract |
| Column-level lineage | Yes, documented | Yes, documented |
| Lineage deployment | SaaS | Cloud-only, per Collibra's own documentation |
| Lineage collection method | Connectors, query history and dbt | Edge, after the CLI harvester end of life on 31 July 2026 |
| Reach beyond the cloud warehouse | Modern stack focused | Broader: legacy ETL, stored procedures, mainframe-era sources |
| Typical buyer | Data team that wants analysts to actually open it | Regulated program with an audit obligation |
| Typical rollout | Weeks to a few months | Quarters, commonly with an implementation partner |
Atlan data lineage vs Collibra data lineage
Both products do column-level lineage, so the checklist row is a tie and tells you nothing. The real question is where each one's graph comes from, because that determines what it can see and what it costs to keep running.
Collibra builds technical lineage by parsing the definitions of the systems that move your data: SQL dialects, stored procedures, ETL tool metadata and BI models. That parsing approach is why Collibra wins evaluations at banks and insurers. When the picture an examiner wants starts in a system nobody has logged into since 2014 and ends in a regulatory report, a warehouse-native tool simply cannot see the middle of that journey, and Collibra can.
Two facts from Collibra's own documentation belong in your evaluation and appear in almost no comparison article. First, Collibra Data Lineage is described there as "a cloud-only product", which matters if your governance requirements assume an on-premises deployment. Second, the collection mechanism changed recently: Collibra's documentation carries a warning that "the CLI lineage harvester reached its end of life on July 31, 2026. New versions are no longer released," and recommends creating technical lineage via Edge instead. If you inherit an existing Collibra deployment, ask directly which mechanism it runs on, because a harvester-based setup is now running on a component with no new releases behind it.
Atlan builds lineage from its native connectors, from query history on supported sources, and from dbt, which is a modern-stack approach and a good fit if that is your estate. Atlan lists connectors across warehouses, databases, BI tools, ETL, orchestrators and data quality tools. Worth noting for accuracy: the frequently repeated "120+ connectors" figure is not stated on Atlan's own connectors page as of 6 September 2026, so ask for the current list against your specific sources rather than trusting a number from a comparison article.
The trade is fairly clean. Atlan's lineage is easier to stand up and covers the cloud stack well. Collibra's lineage reaches further into the parts of an enterprise that predate the cloud, and it is more work and more money to get there. There is a longer breakdown of the underlying techniques in our guide to column-level lineage, and the wider field is in data lineage tools.
Who should buy Collibra, who should buy Atlan, and who should buy neither
A regulator, an auditor or a risk committee is going to ask for evidence, the estate reaches well past the cloud warehouse, and you need stewardship, policy and attestation as first-class objects rather than features. Collibra is expensive and slow to roll out, and in this situation both of those are the price of the thing you actually need. Budget for the modules, not just the platform line.
Your stack is Snowflake or Databricks with dbt and a BI tool, the catalog has to be opened by analysts who were not ordered to open it, and you would rather be live this quarter than next year. Atlan is the stronger answer, and its interface advantage is real rather than marketing. Go in knowing you will get no price signal at all until you are in a sales process.
This is the most common expensive mistake in this category. A team hits a broken dashboard, needs to trace a column and understand what a schema change will break, and ends up in a six-figure catalog evaluation that answers a different question. If the requirement is a lineage graph engineers use during an incident, buy a lineage tool.
If the requirement is lineage, not a catalog
We build Datatrail, so read this section knowing that. We are not a Collibra replacement and we will not pretend to be one. If you need a governance program with stewardship workflows and lineage that crosses a mainframe, Collibra covers ground we do not, and the honest recommendation is to buy Collibra.
What we do is the narrower job many teams are actually in the market for. Connect a read-only role to Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift or Databricks, and Datatrail parses your query history and dbt artifacts into column-level lineage that refreshes itself. Because it reads query logs rather than only dbt manifests, it follows data past the dbt boundary into the ad hoc table somebody created last quarter that became load-bearing. The same graph drives impact analysis, which answers the question that sends most people looking at catalogs in the first place: if I change this column, what breaks downstream, and which dashboards do I have to warn people about.
The practical difference is scope and time. A catalog evaluation is a program decision measured in quarters and six figures. Connecting a warehouse read-only and getting a column-level map is an afternoon. Those are not competing purchases so much as different sizes of problem, and plenty of teams have bought the large one to solve the small one. Once your team also has data landing from sources outside the warehouse, keeping the connections between your apps, APIs and databases documented becomes its own job, and lineage only tells you the truth about the systems it can actually see.
If you are still building the shortlist, the wider comparisons are in data catalog tools and data governance tools.
Atlan vs Collibra questions buyers actually ask
Is Atlan better than Collibra?
Neither is better in general, and they win different evaluations. Atlan tends to win when adoption is the risk: it is the one non-technical stakeholders open without training, and it lands in weeks. Collibra tends to win when the obligation is regulatory and the estate reaches past the cloud warehouse into legacy ETL and stored procedures. Pick by which of those two risks would actually sink your program.
How much does Atlan cost?
Atlan publishes no price. Checked on 6 September 2026, atlan.com/pricing shows no dollar figures, no plan names and no tiers, and the AWS Marketplace listing Atlan maintains carries no rate card at all: no dimensions, no amount, only a private offer. That makes Atlan unusual even among quote-only enterprise vendors, most of which at least expose a floor on Marketplace. Every published Atlan number you find elsewhere is somebody's estimate.
How much does Collibra cost?
Collibra publishes $170,000 for 12 months on its transactable AWS Marketplace listing, read on 6 September 2026. The 24 and 36 month terms are $340,000 and $510,000, exactly two and three times the annual rate. The listing sells one dimension called Collibra Cloud Platform at quantity 1 in a unit type it never defines, so the figure is a real, legally binding price for an entitlement the listing does not describe.
What is the difference between Atlan and Collibra?
Collibra is a governance program platform built around workflow, stewardship and policy, and its lineage reaches unusually far into legacy systems. Atlan is an active metadata platform built around search, collaboration and the modern cloud stack, and it is designed so analysts use it without being told to. Practically, Collibra is bought by a governance office with an audit deadline, and Atlan is bought by a data team that wants its catalog to get opened.
Does Collibra offer column-level lineage?
Yes. Collibra documents technical lineage at both table and column level, and you can view technical lineage from a Column asset directly. Two details matter for a buyer. Collibra Data Lineage is described in Collibra's own documentation as a cloud-only product, and technical lineage is now created via Edge because the CLI lineage harvester reached its end of life on 31 July 2026, with no new versions released.
Is Atlan a data catalog or a data governance tool?
Atlan markets itself as an active metadata platform, which in practice means it is a data catalog with governance features layered on, rather than a governance workflow engine with a catalog attached. It covers discovery, documentation, lineage, classification and access workflows. If your requirement list is dominated by approval chains, policy attestation and stewardship reporting, that is the shape Collibra was built for and Atlan is the lighter option.
Do you get a discount for a multi-year Collibra contract?
Not at list price. Collibra's Marketplace rate card runs $170,000 for 12 months, $340,000 for 24 and $510,000 for 36, which is exactly linear. A longer commitment buys you nothing on the published card, so any multi-year discount you end up with is a concession your procurement team negotiated rather than a rate you were offered. We have now measured this same linear pattern on Collibra, Anomalo and Informatica.
Which is faster to implement, Atlan or Collibra?
Atlan, by a wide margin, and this is the least disputed difference between them. Atlan deployments are commonly described in weeks because the connectors are configured rather than built. Collibra rollouts are commonly described in quarters, because the platform is configured around your operating model: domains, roles, workflows and stewardship assignments. That configuration is the reason Collibra fits regulated programs and the reason it costs what it costs.
What are the alternatives to Atlan and Collibra?
The shortlist usually widens in two directions. Toward catalogs, that means Alation, which publishes $60,000 a year on AWS Marketplace, plus Informatica, Microsoft Purview and open source options like OpenMetadata and DataHub. Toward lineage and observability, it means Monte Carlo at $50,000, Sifflet at $48,000 and warehouse-native tools including Datatrail. Which direction is right depends on whether you need a catalog for people or a lineage graph for engineers.
Related comparisons
What Atlan does well, what it costs as far as anybody can verify, and which tools land on the same shortlist.
The full breakdown of Collibra's modules, technical lineage and rollout, and when a lighter tool is the better buy.
The other head-to-head Atlan lands in, with Alation's $60,000 Marketplace rate card read from the live listing.
The classic enterprise catalog head-to-head, compared on published prices rather than analyst quadrants.
The $170,000 rate card in full, what the undefined unit means, and the modules that are priced separately.
The wider category guide, with verified list prices for every vendor that publishes one anywhere.
Before you start a six-figure catalog evaluation
Find out what a column-level lineage graph of your warehouse actually tells you. Connect a read-only role, get the map in an afternoon, and then decide whether the problem needs a governance program on top of it.