DataTrail
Blog / Comparisons 8 min read

Sifflet vs Monte Carlo Pricing and Which Data Observability Tool to Buy

DataTrail

Lineage map
›Lineage mapped from query history. Read-only connection.
0

Read-only connection. DataTrail never moves or mutates your data.

Sifflet vs Monte Carlo comes down to how much of the bill you can see before you sign. Monte Carlo publishes its credit rate ($0.18 on Start, $0.28 on Scale) and a per-monitor rate card, so 500 monitored tables work out to $57,488 or $89,425 a year at list. Sifflet publishes one number, $48,000 for a 12-month credit pack on AWS Marketplace, and does not say how many assets it covers. Monte Carlo suits teams that want to model cost to the dollar and run large estates. Sifflet suits teams of a few hundred assets that want catalog, observability and lineage in one tool and can get the pack's coverage confirmed in writing.

Data engineer comparing two monitoring dashboards on side by side screens

Most pages ranking for this comparison are written by Sifflet itself, by a third competitor, or by review aggregators that summarize both as "contact sales". That last part is not quite true for either vendor. Monte Carlo's order forms carry a credit rate and its documentation carries the consumption table behind it. Sifflet's AWS listing carries a real dollar amount. We read Sifflet's listing and pricing page on 15 October 2026 and Monte Carlo's rate card and listing on 15 September 2026, and every figure below comes from those primary sources.

Sifflet vs Monte Carlo pricing at list

SiffletMonte Carlo
Prices on own websiteTiers only (Entry, Growth, Enterprise), no dollarsTiers on the pricing page; credit rate on the Start and Scale order forms
What the plan countsAssets monitored: up to 500, up to 1,000, 1,000 plusCredits consumed by each monitor, every day
Published rateNone per asset$0.18 per credit (Start), $0.28 (Scale)
AWS Marketplace, 12 months$48,000 of Data Observability Platform Credits$50,000 of Monte Carlo Credit, overage $0.01 per unit
500 tables a year at list$48,000 if the pack covers 500 assets (not stated)$57,488 (Start) or $89,425 (Scale), table monitors only
UsersNot stated on the plan pageUp to 10 on Start, unlimited on Scale
SSOGrowth and EnterpriseVaries by tier; confirm on the order form
Self-hosted optionEnterprise only (hybrid or fully self-hosted)Business Critical adds a dedicated instance
Refunds on the AWS listingNon-cancellable and non-refundable12-month term only

The two marketplace figures look almost identical, $48,000 and $50,000, and that is the trap. They are both prepaid credit packs, but Monte Carlo's credits have a published conversion into monitors and Sifflet's do not. With Monte Carlo you can take your table count and compute what $50,000 buys before the first call. With Sifflet you need the vendor to tell you. The full Sifflet tier breakdown and per-asset arithmetic is on our Sifflet pricing page, and Monte Carlo's complete bracket table is on Monte Carlo pricing.

Is Sifflet cheaper than Monte Carlo?

At list, Sifflet is probably cheaper for a mid-size estate, but only if its $48,000 pack covers your asset count. Monte Carlo's published rates put 500 table monitors at $57,488 a year on Start and $89,425 on Scale, before any metric monitors or custom SQL rules. If Sifflet confirms the pack keeps 500 assets monitored for a year, it undercuts both.

A worked example shows where the answer moves. Take a Snowflake team with 400 tables that matter and around 60 custom quality checks.

  • Monte Carlo, Start. 400 table monitors at 1.75 credits a day is 700 credits a day, or 255,500 a year. At $0.18 that is $45,990. Sixty custom SQL monitors at 2 credits a day each add 43,800 credits, or $7,884. Total about $53,874 at list.
  • Monte Carlo, Scale. The same consumption at $0.28 is about $83,804. Scale buys unlimited users, more integrations and lake and database coverage, not cheaper credits.
  • Sifflet. 400 assets fits inside Entry's 500-asset ceiling. If the $48,000 marketplace pack is sized to Entry, the custom checks are inside it. If the pack draws credits per monitor the way Monte Carlo's does, the answer could be higher. The listing does not say, so this is the one line you cannot fill in without Sifflet.

The pattern holds at scale too. Monte Carlo's per-table rate falls sharply after the first 1,000 monitors (1.75 credits a day, then 1.09, 0.68 and down to 0.01 above 10,000), so a 5,000-table estate works out to about $86 per table per year on Scale. Sifflet's top tier is simply "1,000 plus", quoted by sales. Above a few thousand tables, Monte Carlo's published curve is an advantage in negotiation even if the final number is similar.

Which is better, Sifflet or Monte Carlo?

Monte Carlo is the better choice when the buyer is a data engineering team that wants a published meter, broad integrations and a mature incident workflow across a large warehouse. Sifflet is the better choice when the buyer wants observability and a business-facing catalog in one product, has a few hundred critical assets, and values hybrid or self-hosted deployment for data residency.

Some concrete differences matter more than the feature grids suggest:

  • Catalog. Sifflet ships a data catalog in every tier and pitches it at business users, with documentation and context pulled in from downstream consumers. Monte Carlo integrates with external catalogs instead, and lists catalog integrations at Enterprise.
  • Lineage. Both include lineage in every tier. Sifflet documents field-level lineage on Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift and Databricks, built from query logs with read-only access (its docs were updated 1 October 2026). Monte Carlo includes lineage on Start and up.
  • Deployment. Sifflet offers SaaS, hybrid (an agent or a Snowflake native app) and fully self-hosted, including a deployment with no internet access, but hybrid and self-hosted are Enterprise only. Monte Carlo's dedicated instance and cross-region disaster recovery sit in Business Critical.
  • AI agents. Both now sell agents. Sifflet's Sentinel (monitor suggestions) is in every tier and its Sage and Forge agents are early access on Enterprise. Monte Carlo meters its Troubleshooting, Triage and PR agents in credits after a small free monthly allowance.
  • Company. Sifflet is a Paris-based company that raised $18 million in June 2025 to expand in North America, states ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2, and offers US hosting. Monte Carlo is the larger and older vendor in the category.

Can you pay for Sifflet with Snowflake credits?

Sifflet says you can. Its pricing page carries the line "Got Snowflake credits sitting around? You can use them here," which normally means buying through Snowflake's marketplace so the spend draws down an existing Snowflake capacity commitment. For a team with unused committed spend near renewal, that can make Sifflet effectively cheaper than any list comparison suggests. Monte Carlo sells through AWS Marketplace, which can draw down an existing cloud spend commitment the same way. Check with your cloud account team which commitment you are more likely to underuse; it can decide the deal.

What to ask each vendor before you sign

Both contracts are 12 months, and the Sifflet listing states that fees are non-cancellable and non-refundable except as required by law. That makes the questions before signature worth more than any discount after it.

For Sifflet: how many monitored assets the $48,000 pack covers, whether views and dbt models count as assets, which monitors draw extra credits, what happens on the first day the credits run out, and whether SSO forces Growth. For Monte Carlo: how many metric and custom SQL monitors your rollout plan creates in the first 90 days, since each draws credits on top of table monitors, and which tier your BI and orchestration integrations require. If your team routes software purchases through a central approval flow, getting both quotes into your procurement software side by side early stops a marketplace private offer from being accepted at list by default.

When neither is the right purchase

A lot of teams price Sifflet and Monte Carlo because a schema change broke a dashboard and nobody knew which models read that column. That is a lineage and change-impact problem, and both tools solve it as one module inside a five-figure observability contract.

DataTrail does that part on its own. It connects to Snowflake, Databricks, BigQuery, Redshift or Postgres with a read-only role, parses query history and dbt artifacts into column-level lineage, and lists every downstream model and dashboard a change touches before it ships, with schema change alerts and freshness monitoring on the same graph. Plans are flat at $59 to $479 a month with no table or asset count. It is not a catalog for business users and it does not ship AI agents, so if those are on the requirements list, Sifflet or Monte Carlo is the better buy. The wider shortlist is on Sifflet alternatives and Monte Carlo alternatives, and if Metaplane is also in the running, Metaplane vs Sifflet compares Datadog's per-table rate with Sifflet's credits.

Sources

Sifflet: AWS Marketplace listing prodview-lz6cw37v4bkna (rate card read from the page data with headless Chrome), siffletdata.com/pricing, and docs.siffletdata.com field-level lineage and security pages, all read 15 October 2026. Monte Carlo: the Start and Scale order forms on montecarlo.ai, Consumption Rates Version 2.1 in Monte Carlo's documentation, and AWS Marketplace listing prodview-hikicsfohm3gg, read 15 September 2026. All prices are list, before any private offer or negotiated discount.

See how your data flows, end to end

Connect your warehouse read-only and map lineage, freshness, and downstream impact before a change breaks a dashboard. Transparent pricing, no card to start.