DataTrail
Blog / Comparisons 11 min read

Varonis Pricing and Varonis Cost per Year From the Full Per-Connector Rate Card

DataTrail

Lineage map
›Lineage mapped from query history. Read-only connection.
0

Read-only connection. DataTrail never moves or mutates your data.

Varonis publishes no prices on its own website, but two public documents do: its AWS Marketplace listing carries a rate card of seventeen per-connector unit prices, and its US federal GSA price list carries 98 line items banded by user count, from $12.55 to $1,546.63 per unit. Covering a SaaS application like Slack, Box, Okta or Salesforce lists at $310.00 per unit per year. Covering Microsoft 365 or Windows file shares is $400.00. Covering AWS or Azure infrastructure is $750.00. Covering Snowflake is $30,000.00. Read from the live listing on 1 September 2026.

That last line is the one worth reading twice. Varonis charges roughly ninety-seven times as much to cover your warehouse as it does to cover your Slack workspace, and no article about Varonis pricing mentions it, because as far as we can tell nobody has published this rate card before.

What follows is the whole thing, plus what the numbers do and do not let you calculate. Every figure came from the public AWS Marketplace product page for Varonis, in US dollars, at list, before any negotiation or private offer.

The full Varonis rate card

Connector dimension12 months24 months36 months
Varonis for Snowflake$30,000.00$60,000.00$90,000.00
Universal Database Connector (any structured database)$15,000.00$30,000.00$45,000.00
Varonis for AWS, S3, EC2 and RDS$750.00$1,500.00$2,250.00
Varonis for Azure IaaS$750.00$1,500.00$2,250.00
Varonis for M365$400.00$800.00$1,200.00
Varonis for Windows and NAS file shares$400.00$800.00$1,200.00
Varonis Interceptor for Email and Browser$400.00$800.00$1,200.00
Varonis Interceptor for Email$400.00$800.00$1,200.00
Varonis Interceptor for Browser$400.00$800.00$1,200.00
Varonis for Salesforce$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Box$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Slack$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Google Drive$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Okta$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Jira$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for GitHub$310.00$620.00$930.00
Varonis for Zoom$310.00$620.00$930.00

Read from the public AWS Marketplace product page for Varonis on 1 September 2026. All prices are per unit, in US dollars, for a standard public contract, excluding private offers, reseller margin and negotiated discounts. Marketplace listings change, so re-check before you put one of these in a business case.

What is a Varonis Unit?

The listing does not say, and this is the single most important caveat on the page. Varonis sells all seventeen dimensions in something called "Units" and never defines what one Unit entitles you to. It is not stated as a seat, a terabyte, a mailbox, a monitored table or a server.

So the rate card tells you the shape of Varonis pricing and the relative cost of covering each platform, which is genuinely useful and more than you can get anywhere else. It does not let you compute your own bill. Anyone who tells you a Varonis deployment costs a specific dollar amount without knowing your unit count is guessing.

This is not a quirk unique to Varonis. We found exactly the same pattern reading the Immuta listing, which sells 960 undefined "Immuta Units" for $96,000.00, and the Alation listing, which sells an undefined quantity of "Alation Data Catalog" for $60,000.00. Across this whole category the published price buys an undefined amount of an undefined thing. The number is still worth having, because it changes what you can say in the room.

The SaaS connectors are all priced identically, which tells you something

Box, Salesforce, Slack, Google Drive, Okta, Jira, GitHub and Zoom are eight very different APIs with very different data models and very different engineering costs to support. Varonis charges $310.00 for every one of them.

A vendor that prices eight unrelated integrations identically is not pricing by cost to build. It is pricing by seat, by risk, or by what the category will bear. That matters commercially, because uniform pricing across a connector family is usually the most negotiable part of a quote: adding a ninth SaaS app costs Varonis very little and it knows that. If your deal is mostly SaaS connectors, ask for them bundled rather than itemized.

Structured data is a completely different business

Snowflake at $30,000.00 and the Universal Database Connector at $15,000.00 sit two orders of magnitude above the SaaS line. Nothing else on the rate card comes close.

There is a defensible reason for part of the gap. Warehouse coverage means classifying columns across a live analytical estate rather than crawling a document store, and the data in there is usually the regulated data. But a 97x multiple is a positioning decision as much as an engineering one, and it tells you where Varonis believes the willingness to pay is.

The practical consequence for a buyer is straightforward. If your sensitive data genuinely lives on Windows file shares, in Microsoft 365 and across a dozen SaaS apps, Varonis is priced attractively and no warehouse-native tool will help you. If your sensitive data lives in Snowflake or Databricks, Varonis stops being the cheap option immediately, and the warehouse-native policy engines become the more sensible comparison. We lay that comparison out in full in our guide to data access governance software.

Does Varonis give a multi-year discount?

Not at list. Every single one of the seventeen dimensions is exactly double at 24 months and exactly triple at 36. Not approximately, not within a rounding error. $310.00, $620.00, $930.00. $30,000.00, $60,000.00, $90,000.00.

We keep finding this, and it is now a five-vendor pattern rather than an oddity. Collibra lists $170,000.00, $340,000.00 and $510,000.00. Privacera lists $100,000.00, $200,000.00 and $300,000.00. Informatica's 24 and 36 month terms are exactly 2x and 3x its annual figure. Anomalo's placeholder tiers run $1, $2, $3.

The read is not that these vendors refuse to discount. It is that the discount does not live in the public rate card, so committing to three years on published terms buys you nothing at all. Most buyers walk into a renewal assuming a longer term automatically earns a better rate, which quietly hands the vendor a concession it never had to make. Ask for the multi-year discount explicitly, as its own line item, and treat the term length as something you are selling rather than something you are buying.

How does Varonis pricing compare to other data security tools?

Varonis is the only vendor in this category that lets you estimate from the bottom up. Everyone else sells a single flat package, which makes direct comparison awkward but does establish where the category's entry price sits.

VendorWhat the listing sells12-month list
BigIDBigID Next, Discovery Foundation$175,000.00
CollibraCollibra Cloud Platform, 1 Unit$170,000.00
Satori, Business tierSatori Data Security Platform$150,000.00
PrivaceraData Access Governance Starter pack$100,000.00
Immuta960 Immuta Units$96,000.00
Satori, Base tierSatori Data Security Platform$70,000.00
Varonis, SnowflakePer-connector unit$30,000.00
Varonis, SaaS appPer-connector unit$310.00

Varonis, Privacera, Satori and Collibra read 1 September 2026. BigID read 31 August 2026. Immuta read 26 August 2026.

Two observations a buyer can actually use. First, the entry price for this category is far above what published guidance claims: several widely cited articles put departmental deployments at $5,000 to $25,000 a year, and Privacera sells a dimension it literally named "Starter pack" for $100,000.00. Second, Varonis is the only listing here where a small deployment is genuinely small. Covering three SaaS apps and Microsoft 365 starts in the low thousands rather than the low six figures, which is why it reaches down into the mid-market in a way the flat-package vendors do not.

Varonis has 98 line items on the US GSA schedule, banded by user count

There is a second public Varonis price list, and it answers the question the Marketplace refuses to. Varonis sells to the US federal government through GSA Multiple Award Schedule contracts, and GSA Advantage displays the itemized price list to anyone. Searching the manufacturer name returns 98 distinct Varonis SKUs from two contract holders, Carahsoft (contract 47QSWA18D008F) and EC America (GS-35F-0511T). We read every page on 15 September 2026. Where both carry a SKU, the table quotes the lower price.

The important thing about this card is not any one number. It is that every SKU is named by product and user band: "Varonis for Windows/NAS (SaaS) User Band 751-1000", "Varonis for Active Directory (SaaS) User Band 20-35K". The Marketplace sells undefined Units. The federal schedule sells the same connectors by headcount band, with the unit price falling as the band grows. That is the first Varonis document we have found that names the meter.

Product line (SKU family)Smallest band listedMid bandLargest band listed
Varonis for Windows/NAS (SaaS) (VWIN)751-1,000 users: $452.022,501-4,000: $327.41; 8,001-10K: $268.77100K-150K: $217.46
Varonis for Windows/NAS + M365 (SaaS) (VTWO)150-250 users: $1,546.63501-750: $950.46; 2,501-4,000: $637.71; 10K-20K: $496.00150K+: $417.81
Varonis for Active Directory (SaaS) (VAD)150-250 users: $197.91751-1,000: $112.39; 4,001-6,000: $75.75; 10K-20K: $63.53100K+ : $53.75
Varonis Edge, OS (EDGE-...OS)0-50 users: $141.70251-500: $59.10; 1,001-1,500: $40.59; 10K-20K: $23.12150K+: $21.01
Varonis Edge, MS (EDGE-...MS)0-50 users: $84.69251-500: $35.32; 1,001-1,500: $24.26; 10K-20K: $14.89150K+: $12.55
Varonis for Slack, Okta, Box, Jira, GitHub, Zoom, Salesforce, ServiceNow (CS)Listed bands run from $230.33 (Slack, 150K+) to $400.81 (Box, 1,501-2,000); ServiceNow tops the group at $337.33 in the 6,001-8,000 band
Varonis for Snowflake, Varonis for Databricks (CS)Band 76-129: $7,753.14 each, the only band listed for either
Varonis for Exchange Online (SaaS)751-1,000 users: $104.28
Universal Database Connector (PSO)$2,201.48

Three readings from the card, stated with the same caution as the Marketplace numbers.

The two documents agree, which tells you they share a meter. The Marketplace lists Windows/NAS at $400.00 per Unit per year. The GSA schedule lists the same product at $415.37 in the 1,001-1,500 user band and $376.27 in the 1,501-2,000 band, so the Marketplace figure sits exactly where a mid-size band would. Slack is $310.00 on the Marketplace and $250.28 to $304.68 across the GSA bands. Whatever a Unit is, it is the same thing a band prices, and the band is defined by users. The one line that does not line up is Snowflake: $30,000.00 per Unit on the Marketplace against $7,753.14 in the GSA 76-129 band, which suggests the warehouse connector is metered on something other than headcount, and the schedule does not say what.

The band curve is steep at the bottom and flat at the top. Windows/NAS falls 52% between the 751-1,000 band and the 100K-150K band. Edge falls 85%. Active Directory falls 73%. Almost all of that discount is earned in the first few thousand users; beyond 20,000 the per-unit price barely moves. A 2,000-user company is paying close to the top of the curve on every line.

OS is 1.67 times MS at every single Edge band. $141.70 against $84.69 at 0-50, $21.01 against $12.55 at 150K+, and the same ratio at every band between. The schedule does not expand either suffix (the natural readings are a subscription license and a maintenance line), and it does not state a billing period for any SKU. So do not multiply a band price by your headcount and call it a budget. The number to walk in with is the band price for your line, and the question to ask is what one unit is and what term it covers.

The parsed card is a public document; if you are checking our work, the search is gsaadvantage.gov for manufacturer "Varonis", five pages of 25 results. The same technique produced Collibra's 153-SKU US price list and the Alation rate card.

What the rate card does not cover

Three things, all of which show up in real quotes.

Professional services. Varonis deployments on large unstructured estates are not self-serve. Discovery, initial permissions remediation and tuning are usually a services engagement, and none of it is in these numbers.

The managed service. Varonis sells its platform increasingly as a managed data detection and response offering with its own analysts. That is a different commercial motion with its own pricing and it does not appear on this rate card at all.

Regional listings. Varonis maintains separate AWS Marketplace listings for the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Australia and India. We read the main US listing. If you are contracting through a non-US entity, check the listing for your region rather than assuming parity, because there is no guarantee the unit prices match.

One more thing worth budgeting for that is not a Varonis line item at all. Per-connector licensing across a dozen SaaS applications creates a recurring cost that grows quietly every time someone adopts a new tool, and access reviews on each of those systems become an ongoing obligation rather than a one-time project. Teams that map those reviews to the controls they actually owe an auditor, using something that tracks compliance obligations against controls, tend to discover they are paying to monitor several systems no policy ever required them to monitor.

Is Varonis worth it?

It depends entirely on where your sensitive data physically sits, and this is the question to settle before you look at any price at all.

Varonis is the best tool on the market for a problem the warehouse-native vendors cannot touch: nobody has audited the twelve million files, mailboxes and SharePoint sites accumulated since 2019, and you have no idea who currently has access to them. Effective-permissions mapping, blast-radius analysis and automated remediation of overexposed data are genuinely excellent, and the per-connector rate card means you can start narrow and expand.

What Varonis does not do is trace where a sensitive column went after somebody queried it. That is a different computation, and it is the gap that catches most access programs eventually: you mask a column in the source table, the policy works perfectly, and an unmasked copy of that column has been sitting in a downstream mart for six months because a pipeline selected it into staging and a model joined it forward. Every access check on that copy passes, because to a permissions tool it is simply a different column in a different table.

Answering that requires column-level lineage across the whole warehouse. DataTrail connects to Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks or Postgres with a read-only role, parses query history alongside your dbt manifest, and builds a column-level lineage graph that lists every downstream table, model and dashboard inheriting values derived from a classified column. It is the coverage check your masking policy cannot perform on itself, and it takes an afternoon rather than a quarter.

Buy a permissions tool to decide who may see what. Use lineage to find out where it already went. If you are still building the shortlist, our comparison of data access governance tools covers all twelve platforms with the prices each one publishes, and our BigID comparison and Immuta comparison go deeper on the two vendors Varonis is most often evaluated against.

See how your data flows, end to end

Connect your warehouse read-only and map lineage, freshness, and downstream impact before a change breaks a dashboard. Transparent pricing, no card to start.